TechForce Announces 2019 ‘Techs Rock Awards’ Winners

The TechForce Foundation has announced Melina Algier, a service technician at Farnsworth Chevrolet (Canandaigua, NY), as the 2019 “People’s Choice” grand prize winner and the “Rookie of the Year” award winner in the second annual “Techs Rock Awards” competition.

The program recognizes working technicians who are striving to mentor and inspire the next generation of techs, bringing excellence to their workplaces and communities, and demonstrating passion and commitment to the profession.

Algier prevailed over four other finalists who competed in an online contest in which more than 4,000 votes were cast. The other category winners were …
• “Pay It Forward” award: Jason Katzenberger of Kunes Country Ford (Delavan, WI);
• “Die Hard Tech” award: Christopher Owen of R.M. Burritt Motors (Oswego, NY);
• “Outstanding Mentor” award: Michael Owens of Fullerton Ford (Somerville, NJ);
• “Barrier Buster” award: Samantha Britton of Billy Howell Lincoln Ford (Cumming, GA).